Star Wars: Canon Timeline

We’ve all heard the phrase. We know it, we love it, we recite it by heart every time that text starts scrolling through the stars.

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away … but like, what does that mean? What exactly is the order of all the Star Wars movies and TV shows, plus the comics? All of the stories build on each other and are connected more intricately than the ecosystems on the moons of Endor™. But sometimes you just wanna know: What is the timeline for the Star Wars films and shows?

For your viewing convenience, we have divided all the major canon Star Wars content into their respective galactic eras. In each era, there’s a list oriented around that time period’s main trilogy. The BBY/ABY scale will be used, which divides galactic history into events before the Battle of Yavin™ (Star Wars: A New Hope™) and after the Battle of Yavin.

Warning: It’s a trap! Spoilers below for major plot points.

High Republic

This newest era of Star Wars lore is actually some of the canonically oldest we’ve seen. Beginning in January 2021, a series of novels and comic books were released to shed some light on this peaceful era of the Galactic Republic that takes place about 200 years before the prequel trilogy.

The High Republic stories are from a time when the Jedi Order™ was a deeply trusted source of safety within the galaxy. During this period, the galaxy is still learning how to exist together and many parts of the universe are uncharted and dangerous. At the height of its power, the Republic was working to incorporate the Outer Rim™ territories using projects like the Starlight Beacon™. The Jedi Knights™ were employed by the Republic as intergalactic explorers.

It was a time of expansion and unity — at least, on the surface. Colonization, whether planetary or across star systems, is never without its consequences.

Age of Republic

Pre-Trilogy: Tales of the Jedi™ (also during The Clone Wars™)

Trilogy: Episode I: The Phantom Menace™, Episode II: Attack of the Clones™, The Clone Wars, Episode III: The Revenge of the Sith, The Bad Batch

Post-Trilogy: Obi-Wan Kenobi

In the Age of the Republic, an era starting about 32 years before the Battle of Yavin, the days of the Galactic Republic are numbered. The Phantom Menace is a catalyst for this epoch in galactic history, bringing Anakin Skywalker™ into a mix of political intrigue and Force-ful prophecies. When Palpatine™ manipulates his Chancellorship into the Supreme Chancellor, the shift from Republic to Empire officially begins.

After the Sith emerge from hiding in The Phantom Menace, 10 years later Anakin is the Padawan™ of Obi-Wan Kenobi™. In Attack of the Clones, his connection to Padmé Amidala™ continues to deepen, causing ripples in the Force. This also marks the beginning of the Clone Wars, which will last about four years and are chronicled in the animated series The Clone Wars. The Clone Wars come to a conclusion in Revenge of the Sith when Order 66 is executed and the Jedi Order is all but destroyed by Anakin and Palpatine.

As the galaxy deals with the loss of the Jedi, the Empire gains power and transitions away from the use of clone troopers, which we see in The Bad Batch. The standalone Obi-Wan Kenobi TV series takes place in 9 BBY. For the Count Dooku™ portion of the show, Tales of the Jedi is likely to take place around 42 BBY, when Qui-Gon Jinn™ is his Padawan.

Age of Rebellion

Pre-Trilogy: Solo: A Star Wars Story™, Star Wars: Rebels™, Andor™, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Trilogy: Episode IV: A New Hope, Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back™, Episode VI: Return of the Jedi

Post-Trilogy: The Mandalorian™, The Book of Boba Fett™, Ahsoka

This period of Star Wars history is dominated by Emperor Palpatine’s reign and most properties from this time are fighting against the evil Empire. It’s also known as the Galactic Civil War. Five years before A New Hope, Ezra Bridger™ and the crew of the Ghost are aiding the Rebellion, a movement to topple the Empire and bring democracy back to the galaxy. Their adventures take place in Rebels.

Cassian Andor’s™ show, Andor, is also projected to take place in 5 BBY, covering the time when the Emperor’s grasp is tightening throughout the galaxy and the Rebellion is just starting to take flight. Some of the standalone Star Wars films also take place in this period — Solo is 10 years before A New Hope and Rogue One is only days before the events of A New Hope.

The original trilogy, in which the classic trio of heroes goes up against Darth Vader™, takes place within the span of four years. In between The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi, there are also some notable comics series. In Star Wars: Age of Rebellion – Darth Vader #1, Vader’s terror at the peak of his power is further explored and Doctor Aphra’s series shows a breakout antihero who operates in the galaxy’s dangerous underbelly.

Vader’s defeat, and the Emperor’s death, in 4 ABY (Return of the Jedi) marks a turning point in the Force. The Empire begins to crumble. The Rebel Alliance is finally victorious. Many of the current and upcoming Star Wars series occur in this transitional time period, when the Empire has been toppled but remnants of its corruption still lurk in the shadows. The Mandalorian, The Book of Boba Fett, and Ahsoka™ all happen around 9 ABY.

Age of Resistance

Trilogy: Star Wars: Resistance™, Episode VII: The Force Awakens™, Episode VIII: The Last Jedi™, Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker

Thirty years after the events of Return of the Jedi, the galaxy seems to be recovering from the effects of the Empire … except, of course, for those who wish to bring back the old ways. Resistance shows the beginnings of the Resistance, led by General Leia Organa™, and the regular fighters who oppose The First Order, which seeks to restore the Galactic Empire.

In The Force Awakens, The First Order continues its nefarious efforts. Meanwhile, Rey™ finds her way in the Force and searches for Luke Skywalker™ to train her. Kylo Ren™, on the other hand, is the estranged and troubled son of Leia and Han Solo™ who does everything he can to squash the Resistance. The fates of Rey and Kylo become increasingly intertwined in The Last Jedi and The Rise of Skywalker, leading to a conclusion of the Skywalker saga that confronts family legacies and dark temptation.

The history of the Star Wars galaxy is more complex than predicting a Tatooine™ sandstorm. These beloved stories and characters are woven together so intricately that the timeline is more like a swirling nebula than a neatly plotted star system.

If the Force is calling to you to dive even deeper into galactic history, then Star Wars: Visions™ provides a collection of tales that take place centuries in the past, during the Clone Wars, after the Great Jedi Purge™, and at many other in-between points in time. Star Wars: Visions season 2 is expected to premiere in spring 2023.

Do you have a favorite era of Star Wars history? Keep the conversation going with other Star Wars fans over at, and don’t forget to Let Your Geek Sideshow!